Read whole article by clicking here
Head’s up, vegetarians and vegans: There’s natural beef flavour in those fries!
And here’s why:
Some 50 years ago, McDonald’s cooked its fries in beef fat. When it switched over to a vegetable oil blend, it didn’t want the fries to lose their famous flavour, so they opted to add natural beef flavour to the blend. Hydrolysed wheat and hydrolysed milk are used as starting ingredients of the flavouring.
So, shockingly enough, these fries are not vegetarian, nor vegan!
In 2002, McDonald’s paid $10 million to members of vegetarian groups including Hindus and Sikhs who had sued the chain for failing to disclose that beef tallow was included among the ingredients of the seemingly-vegetarian French fries.
And What About the Rest of Those Ingredients?
1. Vegetable Oil (Blend)
- Canola oil
- Hydrogenated soybean oil
- Citric acid
- TBHQ (tertiary butylhydroquinone)
2. Dextrose: Another word for sugar
3. Sodium acid pyrophosphate
4. Dimethyl polysiloxane
THE VERDICT: It all sounds pretty questionable, right? Also, think about how many vegetarians and vegans (and people wanting to avoid eating meat) have unknowingly ingested beef while eating these French fries? Why don’t they simply re-name them “Beefy Fries” or “Beef-Flavoured French Fries” for total transparency?
THE SENTENCE: McDonald’s French fries contain questionable ingredients and a minimal amount of nutrition (protein, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants).
And for all the vegetarians out there who have eaten these fries, we hope you’re not too bummed out after reading this. At least now you know!